previous arrow
next arrow

Handley senior shortstop Kaplan Ambrose and James Wood senior pitcher and first baseman Garett McAlexander were named Co-Class 4 Northwestern Baseball Players of the Year in selections released Friday.

Both players were selected to the First Team at the aforementioned positions, and both will continue their careers at the NCAA Division III level next year. Ambrose will play for Christopher Newport University and McAlexander will play for Shenandoah University.

Sherando's Craig Bodenschatz was named the Coach of the Year in his first season at the helm. Bodenschatz guided the Warriors to a 16-5 overall record and 7-1 district mark, which tied James Wood for the best record in the district. 

Joining McAlexander on the First Team are teammates Deuce Strosnider, a senior second baseman, senior designated hitter John Copenhaver and senior outfielder Kemper Omps. Ambrose's teammate Landen Lewis, a senior pitcher, also made the First Team.

Sherando had four First Team selections — sophomore pitcher Dean Lamb, junior cather Dylan Frazier, senior third baseman Neil Holborn and junior outfielder Hayden LaFever. Millbrook senior outfielder Chase Ford also made the First Team.

Second Team selections are: Sherando: sophomore pitcher Aaron DeHaven, senior shortstop Tyler Strosnider, senior outfielder Trey Williams, junior outfielder Tucker LaFever; Millbrook: sophomore pitcher Dylan Apfel, senior first baseman Hogan Newlin, senior second baseman Brady Price, senior designated hitter Tanner Barb; James Wood: freshman pitcher Parker Kerns, junior outfielder Logan Bower; Handley: junior catcher Charlie Allen, senior third baseman Staige Dolan.