previous arrow
next arrow

Like they did during the regular season, James Wood and Millbrook dominated the Class 4 Northwestern All-District baseball team with the Colonels’ Colin McGuire being selected as Player of the Year and Adrian Pullen as Coach of the Year. The teams were selected by district coaches and announced Friday.

McGuire, a pitcher/third baseman, and Pullen helped the Colonels go unbeaten (12-0) in district play during the regular season. He was selected as a First Team pitcher. Other Colonels to make the First Team were: catcher John Copenhaver, first baseman Jared Neal, outfielder Kemper Omps and pitcher Nick Bell.

Millbrook, whose only two losses in the regular season came against the Colonels, had six First Team picks. They were: Shortstop Carl Keenan, second baseman Ryan Liero, third baseman Nate Brookshire, outfielders Micah George and Chase Ford and pitcher Cam Comins.

Sherando pitcher/second baseman Cole Orr was a utility pick and was joined on the First Team by outfielder Trey Williams. Handley shortstop/pitcher Kaplan Ambrose was a utility pick.

Second Team selections were: James Wood: Outfielder Michael Jackson, third baseman McGuire; Millbrook: Pitcher Keenan; Sherando: Pitcher Orr; Handley: Catcher Charlie Allen, outfielder Lucas Mammano, shortstop Ambrose.

Honorable Mention picks were: Sherando: Third baseman Neil Holborn, outfielder Hayden Lafever, shortstop Tyler Strosnider, second baseman Orr; Handley: Third baseman Griffin Hott; James Wood: Shortstop Eli Miller.